Fiona Ma for State Assembly

DNC Holds Executive Committee Conference Call

WASHINGTON – Due to today’s inclement weather throughout the country, the Democratic National Committee’s (DNC) Executive Committee held their Executive Committee meeting via conference call today, hearing from special guests such as Pennsylvania Senator Bob Casey, Pennsylvania Democratic Party Chair Marcel Groen, and Democratic National Convention Committee CEO Leah Daughtry on preparations for the Democratic Convention to be held in the City of Brotherly and Sisterly Love in July. The previously-scheduled in-person meeting in Philadelphia, including a tour of the convention sites, was cancelled due to expected inclement weather.

Democratic National Committee Chair Rep. Debbie Wasserman Schultz also delivered remarks during today’s call. In addition, the DNC Executive Committee voted to ratify the Chair’s 2016 Party Leader and Elected Official Member appointments to the Convention Standing Committees: Credentials, Platform, and Rules. The slate of the Chair’s appointments is attached in PDF format.

DNC rules provide for the Chair to appoint 75 Party Leader and Elected Official Members to the three Convention Standing Committees.  These Party Leader Members serve in addition to and together with the over 160 members that are elected in each and every state to those same committees.   

“I am extremely proud of the experienced group of individuals who are ready and dedicated to serving our Party on the Convention Committees,” said DNC Chair Rep. Debbie Wasserman Schultz. “This slate represents the great variety of perspectives, backgrounds, and experiences that make up our Party. We wanted to make sure that the diversity of our party was reflected to the highest levels in terms of race, gender, age, and geography and feel confident that these individuals will do a tremendous job in this capacity.” 

The bulk of the Standing Committee members will be elected from the states and territories during the delegate selection process.

The Chair also appointed Committee Co-Chairs as follows:

·         Credentials Committee: Lorraine Miller and Jim Roosevelt

·         Rules Committee: Former State Senator Leticia Van de Putte and former U.S. Congressman Barney Frank

·         Platform Committee: Governor Dan Malloy and former Atlanta Mayor Shirley Franklin



2016 Committees